birdie

18 Feb

When G was just a wee babe he would lie on his back in the bassinet of the stroller looking up in the sky and become fascinated by the birds.  Perhaps it was his first reaction to his surroundings that made this so sweet. I will always remember those moments on our walks when he would giggle away and try and reach for the birds that danced above him in the California sky.  I thought that he’d like his own little bird that could settle by his side and wouldn’t flutter away at his slightest movement. So I set out to make him a bird by hand. His own buddy made with love by me.

Well, he didn’t care for it.

He had no interest in this bird that I stitched by hand. As he began to crawl and then walk I would sit the bird by his side, thinking how cute it would be if this would become his little side-kick he’d bring to bed with at night. Nope, no interest whatsoever. He would push this bird away and reach for his car, a truck, or a block that he could pretend was a car or truck. So I just put the little birdie on top of the shelf.

Well, now this 2 1/2 year old has found his friend. One day G saw the little guy up there on the shelf and asked me to take him down.  Now, this little bird goes with G on all his adventures.  The felt is getting a bit fuzzy, and his wings are looking a bit weak, but he is loved!

I got the pattern for this bird from the site ”Wee Wonderfuls“. I think the pattern cost $5 and I only needed a few materials of felt, embroidery and stuffing. I made this guy before I ever started using my sewing machine. It was just cutting and stitching by hand.  I made him while T and I were watching Colombo. Hard to believe that I could even manage another task with such intense viewing going on!

I realized G’s recent interest in this guy may be due to his favorite book at the moment…

Oh how I love this book too! This was actually Travis’ childhood book.

T and I have this book memorized as G wants it read to him numerous, numerous, numerous times a day! No more skipping pages in an attempt to rush through the book, G will catch us everytime!

I must say, I was quite impressed when I realized how well he knew the story so when I asked G to read it, he did! Every single page he recited the words.

Sometimes the reading must stop as G finds it extremely frustrating when ‘birdie’ falls out of the truck…

And moments later, the bird is settled in nicely and G is sweet once again. Oh how I love this pic…

Leave a Reply

