let us eat cake!

22 Jan

One of my finds from a yard sale today was this sweet little candleholder set. It’s recreated from a 1950’s cake set and I actually saw this at the store Restoration Hardware last year. I thought it would be great to add to my ‘birthday tradition’ items  until I saw the price tag of $16…I convinced myself that it wasn’t that cute!

But today low and behold I spotted it one of the many unbelievable (in a good way) Yard Sales that were in the Village. I’ll have to post more on my amazing finds soon.

Anyways, saw this candleholder set at the yard sell and it really is cute! Adding to the cuteness factor were 2 things, #1- it had never been used #2- .50 cents. Didn’t need to put on my bargaining hat for that one!

G thought they were pretty nifty…

I thought if these are not an excuse to make a delicious gluten-free carrot cake than I don’t know what is!  No need to twist this girl’s arm!

As G and I were licking the cream cheese frosting off the mixer paddles (I can’t EVER go back on the promise I made to myself in my childhood days- that one day when I was a mama I would always let my children lick the paddle. As long as I got one too of course!). Anyways, as we were licking away I was thinking how absolutely delicious this homemade cream cheese icing is and that it really would be great on many cakes, not just carrot. Why did I ever buy icing in a can when this one is quick, simple and sooo much better?  This is the recipe I used and not one to forget!

Cream Cheese Icing

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cream cheese, room temperature
  • 3 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 lemon, grated and juiced
  1. Beat butter and cream cheese in large bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy.
  2. Add icing sugar and beat at low speed until well blended. Beat in vanilla, grated lemon rind, and lemon juice until smooth.

On lemon cupcakes these would be delish! If I omitted the fresh lemon this icing would make a chocolate cake decadent.  Add some fresh pureed strawberries to this, top some vanilla cupcakes and oh la la!

Now time to start the animal parade…

2 Responses to “let us eat cake!”

  1. Sheri Laws January 23, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    These are sooo cute. You always find the best stuff! I think we should plan a girls garage sale weekend around you some time!!!

  2. melissa February 11, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Did you say 50 cents. What??!!?? So cute. You can have so much fun with those.

Leave a Reply

