fresh.

20 Jan

oh how i love the colors of our farmer’s market produce…

I made up some of my favorite salad dressing with the fragrant, bright green bunches of fresh basil that I bought from our favorite stand. This recipe is from the cookbook ‘rebar’ that Isabel bought me for my wedding shower years ago. A great cookbook from the restaurant ‘rebar’ in Victoria, BC…predominately vegetarian with very cool recipes.  I still really love opening up this cookbook Isabel and trying out their recipes…makes me think of you in your bright teal kitchen in Nanaimo!

This dressing makes even simple salad of spinach leaves and avocado taste ‘restaurant-style’ excellent, if I do say so myself!

basil vinaigrette
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced…often i just use 1 garlic clove or none if i don’t want stinky breath the next day, but in the cases where we are having people over i do use the required amount as it really adds to the flavor
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 oz fresh basil leaves (i just use a BIG handful)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh pepper
  • 1 cup olive oil
    Combine all ingredients, except oil, in food processor and blend. Slowly add olive oil once all ingredients are throughly processed.
    This can be refrigerated up to 3 or 4 days
    Also, this is really tasty over baby potatoes!

While I made this dressing, G sat outside enjoying his favorite Farmer’s Market  buy…kettle corn! SO ADDICTIVE!

Leave a Reply

