at the table

24 Sep

There was a little chill in the air when George woke us up this morning .

Perhaps because it was 5am. Yawn.

I was sitting at the kitchen table when Georgie became mesmerized by this…

and I was mesmerized by this…

Funny how quickly when one wakes up, the mind is filled with to-do’s and perhaps worries.  It’s often the routine where once the alarm goes off, the mind starts whirling while the body starts rushing around in a hurried state.   I am realizing lately that although we might have our own schedule and agenda thought out in our head and written on a piece of paper we may not have the ability to do things according to our timeline.  Life is unexpected.  Life does not always follow our plan. There are times when we may be pleasantly surprised with the results of an unexpected change of plans and other times it may be discouraging. That’s life.

On this particular morning I started off the day feeling a wee bit glum due to an unexpected “agenda” change in my life.  I was lost in my thoughts while eating breakfast but then snapped out of it by the little man beside me who was mesmerized by the steam from my oatmeal.  Funny how his interesting comments about such a simple thing made me realize how silly it was to waste time on what is not and instead be mesmerized and excited by what is now.  Makes me thankful for all that God has blessed our family with.  Just a simple thing like starting the day off eating oatmeal with my son. Not having to rush off to work but just to be able to enjoy the moment and hang out, not knowing where the day would take us.

My mom sent me a sweet card recently with this lovely quote by Helen Keller…

” When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”

2 Responses to “at the table”

  1. sis September 27, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    ahh sis so true. what a great quote and how true it is in all of our lives. i think that each day will prove to be more and more of a blessing to you as time moves on. At times, there are no answers for us, nothing clear to make sense of, but as you said God reveals His love and comfort through our simple, daily life. (eating oatmeal!!!!)you are such a blessing to me sis, and i really am thankful for you. (time for the distant hug and pat on back!!!)wishing you a happy day. love ya

  2. Shannon September 27, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Capturing the steam from the oatmeal is unbelievable….I can smell it now. After reading your blurb, I felt my tears coming and a smile at the same time. You are a wonder and so is your darling George. Life is a wonder and it holds so much for you dear sis..even if it’s not exactely how you expected it to be.
    Love you and can’t wait to see you all!!!

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

