Unexpected treasures…

23 Aug

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

or other people’s junk! Difference between an estate sale and a yard sale? Estate sales you get to be snoopy and peruse through someones house…so much fun to wander from room to room, check out the house’s character and style and pick and choose what items you want to purchase.  Kind of strange at times to actually open someone’s kitchen cupboards and pull out their dishes as if you are a guest visiting.  Some homes are old and in some sort of disarray  but if you take the time you will find great vintage items among many other musty possessions.  Some are beautiful mansions with valuable items that are worth beyond the ‘garage sale’ change in my pocket.  Paintings with a sale price of thousands and designer furniture that looks fit for a museum.  One of my ultimate treasures that I found at an estate sale was my Le Creuset White Enamel Cast Iron set…for $40 my arms were filled with beautiful (yes, i believe my pots are beautiful!), cast iron cookware set.  Pots and pans that are worth hundreds of dollars for ONE pot…I left with 5 pots and 5 pans.  Upon leaving a man stopped me and indicated that he was a chef and often went to estate sales looking for the odd Le Creuset pot or pan as they are such good quality and the more you cook with them the more they retain flavor…he couldn’t believe I landed the whole set.  That Le Creuset set has brought much joy to the Schneider kitchen!

So…back to this weekends estate sale. I seem to have acquired a few collections of things (yikes, I think we need to move to a bigger house soon!) and a Christmas theme of items too.  Upon seeing the set of green glass dessert dishes I had a vision on my head of how beautiful they will look on my white plates at Christmas.  Did I need to buy all eight?  No, but I had a vision of the day we live back home in Canada and have the whole family over for dinner.  I mean how nice would all eight of these delicate bowls look at each place setting…okay, I’ve convinced myself…time to start a little pile.  The nutcracker’s were just too perfect to go along with my Christmas theme of dishes.  Two of the nutcracker’s are made in Germany and have the tag that indicates they are from the 50’s…so much better then the one I looked at at Target last year…and these were added to my pile for only $5 for both (one is an amputee and has a broken arm).  The other nutcracker (the birdwatcher) was at the second sale I went to that day and I just HAD to add  him to my new collection…the 3 musketeers!  The tiny tea set was just so sweet and I know just the niece that will enjoy hosting tea parties for her dolls with this set…and tiny enough to send in the mail!Seeing these frames made me think that they would be a nice thing to top a birthday present with…tied to the top with a pic of the birthday girl.

Driving home I was quite happy about my new collections and treasures. George was so happy playing with his new plane while I washed and put away the Christmas finds. I had to make room for next weeks’ sale after all!

Leave a Reply

